Here’s Why I’ll Skip the M4 iPad Pro for Good

3 Major reasons why the latest iPad Pro is worth skipping

The Evil Geek
4 min readMay 13, 2024
An image by the author.
An image by the author.

Alongside the iPad 9th Generation, I’ve been using a 12.9” M1 iPad Pro for almost three years now and I was really keen on upgrading my iPad Pro with the latest model. But ever since I saw the recent Apple Event where the new iPad models were unveiled, I had a change in plan.

Here are 3 major reasons why I won’t be upgrading to the latest M4 iPad Pro for good:

1. The Lacking Display

“But the new iPad Pros have OLED displays” — an Apple employee in disguise in the comments

I’m aware of the big OLED change in the new iPads. And only to clarify, I’m happy with the change. Unlike the last releases, the larger iPad models are not the only ones to get the superior display upgrade. This time around, even the smaller 11” variants will feature the same OLED display as the 13” variants. However, the nano-texture displays are only reserved for the higher-storage variants.

Anyway, the OLED doesn’t seem to excite me as much as it does to others. I’m pretty satisfied with the Mini LEDs on my current iPad Pro. Now surely the media would look sharper and crisper on an OLED versus a Mini…

--

--

The Evil Geek

Alter ego of an extremely handsome man. Hiding in the shadows, I write about tech. Muahahaha!